The Charleston Haunted Jail Tour

Bulldog Tours

Zerve Seller: Bulldog
Activity #629
Rating Summary:
Rating: 3.9  219 rating points
# of Reviews Positive
Points
Negative
Points
= Overall
Rating
% Positive Average
Rating
Last 3 months 65 101 9 = 92 88% 4.0
Last 6 months 109 158 20 = 138 85% 3.9
Last 12 months 172 254 35 = 219 84% 3.9
All 1,298 1,934 258 = 1,676 85% 3.9
Rating and reviews for:

The Charleston Haunted Jail Tour

activity photo

Explore the jail where the most heinous convicts, slaves and Civil War prisoners lived, died and are rumored to still reside today.

Rating Date Attended Sort Descending Reviewer Gender Age Where From? Group Type?
Rating: 3
not what I expected nor anything scary at all
Wed, Apr 8  8:00 PM andersen2011 Male 30-39 Domestic Tourist(s) Couple on a Date
Tour guide was so rude an was not happy to answer a questions an didn't seem to happy to be workimg there.
Rating: 4
Loved it!
Tue, Apr 7  10:30 PM kelly_bj Female 40-49 Domestic Tourist(s) Family With Children
Went with my teenage sons as well as my 70 yr old inlaws. Everyone had a good time. Tour was informative and spooky. Would definitely recommend.
Rating: 2
Informative but not scary
Tue, Apr 7  7:00 PM vbusch3329 Female Unspecified Domestic Tourist(s) Family Without Children
Our "tour" of the jail consisted of only 3 rooms and only one of the rooms had a replica of an actual jail cell. While some of the stories our guide told us were interesting, it was not enough for me to recommend this tour. If you want spooky and "haunted" I suggest you go to Alcatraz.
Rating: 4
Decent
Mon, Apr 6  9:30 PM jakegabe28 Female 40-49 Domestic Tourist(s) Family With Children
Short tour with great stories. Needs something more or price should be lower. Not worth the rate.
Rating: 3
Fun Experience Cost a Bit Steep
Mon, Apr 6  8:30 PM Mlokroy Female 30-39 Domestic Tourist(s) Other
Our guide was very knowledgeable and made it a fun experience. However $20/person for 45 minute bordered between fair and expensive. I have to say, seeing some of the materials from the classes they have in the building does take away from the ambiance but it was still an enjoyable experience.
Rating: 2
Not worth the money
Sat, Apr 4  7:30 PM Rursch95 Male 30-39 Domestic Tourist(s) Group of Friends
The description of the tour makes it seem much more interesting than the actual tour itself. There's a lot left to be desired as far as information about the jail house and it's inmates. The other disappointing part is that the college is working on the jail so you are essentially touring a work site. I would find a different ghost tour to spend my money on if I had it to do over.
 
Bulldog Tours responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a good time on the tour. Please contact us so that we can rectify the situation. Perhaps you didn't like your tour guide? The American College of the Building Arts owns the building and occupies it during the day. They are not working on the building, but they do have a few offices in there. I'm sorry if they got in the way of you enjoying your tour. We do not hear this complaint often, so I am sorry that this bothered you.
Rating: 5
Informative and entertaining
Tue, Mar 31  9:00 PM cvankrum Female 30-39 Domestic Tourist(s) Family With Children
The tour was 45 min long and started right on time. Our tour guide was knowledgeable on the history of the building as well as the history of the city. I loved that the tour was given at night, providing that little something extra. I'd do it again in a heartbeat!
Rating: 4
Great ghost tour
Mon, Mar 30  8:00 PM wendytolley Female 30-39 Domestic Tourist(s) Family With Children
Tour guide was very informative
Rating: 5
interesting tour
Mon, Mar 23  8:30 PM sarahhuff592 Female 20-29 Local Group of Friends
The tour was very informational and contained a lot of history from the area in addition to history specific to the jail and its occupants. The guide was fun and very knowledgeable. Only complaint was that another tour was still finishing up their tour and making a lot of noise.
Rating: 4
Great TOUR
Sun, Mar 22  8:00 PM Jennrwill Female 30-39 Domestic Tourist(s) Couple on a Date
We learned a lot from our guide. He was knowledgeable and although we didn't see any ghosts, we had a great time.